Agencies, Boards and Commissions

Legislative Budget Board

Return to Legislative ABCs

10 Members

General Information

Agency #: 104 Robert E. Johnson Office Building1501 N. Congress Avenue, P.O. Box 12666Austin 78711-2666


Office Office Holder Hometown / Term Ends
Co Chairman(s) The Honorable Dan Patrick Houston
The Honorable Joe Straus III San Antonio
Board Member(s) Rep. Drew Darby San Angelo
Sen. Kelly G. Hancock North Richland Hills
Sen. Joan Huffman Houston
Sen. Larry Taylor Friendswood
Rep. John Zerwas, M.D. Richmond
Chairman, House Ways and Means Committee Rep. Dennis H. Bonnen Angleton
Chair, Senate Finance Committee Sen. Jane Nelson Flower Mound
Chair, House Appropriations Committee Rep. John Zerwas, M.D. Richmond


Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Director Ursula Parks (512) 463-1200
Assistant Director Julie Ivie (512) 463-1200
Assistant Director Sarah Keyton (512) 463-1200
Assistant Director John McGeady (512) 463-1200
Assistant Director Paul Priest (512) 463-1200
Communications Officer RJ DeSilva (512) 463-1200
Fiscal Project and Process Improvement Officer Maria Hernandez (512) 463-1200
General Counsel Michael VanderBurg (512) 463-1200
Legal Counsel Amy Borgstedte (512) 463-1200
Staff Development Coordinator Kim Wheeler (512) 463-1200

Team Managers

Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Agency Operations and Employee Services Matt Medford (512) 463-1200
Applied Research and Performance Audit Garron Guszak (512) 463-1200
Budget-Business and Economic Development Emily Cormier (512) 463-1200
Budget-Education-Public Education Andy MacLaurin (512) 463-1200
Budget-Education-Higher Education Demetrio Hernandez (512) 463-1200
Budget-General Government Nora Velasco (512) 463-1200
Budget-Health and Human Services Elizabeth Prado (512) 463-1200
Budget-Natural Resources and Judiciary Mark Wiles (512) 463-1200
Budget-Public Safety and Criminal Justice Angela Isaack (512) 463-1200
Computing Services Gerry Caffey (512) 463-1200
Contracts Oversight Jacob Pugh (512) 463-1200
Criminal Justice Data Analysis Marialaura Molina (512) 463-1200
Estimates and Revenue Analysis Scott Dudley (512) 463-1200
Federal Funds Analysis Eduardo Rodriguez (512) 463-1200
Performance Review-Agencies Jeremiah Jarrell (512) 463-1200
Performance Review-Schools Lesli Cathey (512) 463-1200
Publications and Production Services Karen Veriato (512) 463-1200


The 10 member Legislative Budget Board (LBB) was created by statute in 1949. The primary purpose of the LBB is the development of recommended legislative appropriations for all agencies of state government. The LBB provides the Texas Legislature with the recommended state budget, prepared by the LBB staff, at the beginning of each legislative session, which occurs in early January of odd-numbered years. The LBB’s authority is broad and its influence on state government spending is significant. The composition of the LBB is specified by statute.