Agencies, Boards and Commissions

Sunset Advisory Commission

Return to Legislative ABCs

10 Legislative Members - 4 Years; 2 Public Members-2 Years

General Information

Agency #: 116 1501 North Congress, 6th FloorP.O. Box 13066Austin 78711-3066


Office Office Holder Hometown / Term Ends
Chair Sen. Brian Birdwell Granbury, 09-01-2021
Vice Chair Rep. Chris Paddie Marshall, 09-01-2021
TX Senator(s) Sen. Dawn Buckingham, M.D. Lakeway, 09-01-2021
Sen. Bob Hall Edgewood, 09-01-2021
Sen. Robert Nichols Jacksonville, 09-01-2019
Sen. Kirk Watson Austin, 09-01-2019
TX House Representative(s) Rep. Dan Flynn Van, 09-01-2019
Rep. Stan Lambert Abilene, 09-01-2021
Rep. Alfonso "Poncho" Nevarez Eagle Pass, 09-01-2021
Rep. Senfronia Thompson Houston, 09-01-2019
Senate Public Member Emily Patake Cedar Park, 09-01-2019
House Public Member Ronald G. Steinhart Dallas, 09-01-2019


Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Acting Director Jennifer Jones (512) 463-1300 / (512) 463-0705
General Counsel Steven Ogle (512) 463-1300 / (512) 463-0705
Director of Business Operations Anya Wiley (512) 463-1300 / (512) 463-0705
Office Manager Janet Wood (512) 463-1300 / (512) 463-0705


The Texas Legislature created the Sunset Advisory Commission in 1977 to identify and eliminate waste, duplication, and inefficiency in government agencies. The Sunset Commission reviews the policies and programs of about 130 state agencies and questions the need for each agency; looks for duplication with other public services or programs; and recommends changes to improve each agency's operations and activities. The Commission seeks public input through hearings on every agency under Sunset review and recommends actions on each agency to the full Legislature. In most cases, agencies under Sunset review are automatically abolished unless legislation is enacted to continue them.

The 12-member Sunset Advisory Commission has five members of the Senate, five members of the House, and two public members, appointed by the Lieutenant Governor, and the Speaker of the House, respectively. The chairmanship rotates between the Senate and the House every two years.