Agencies, Boards and Commissions

Pardons and Paroles, Texas Board of (BPP)*

7 Members - Term: 6 Years

General Information

Price Daniel Bldg.209 West 14th St., Suite 500Austin, TX 78701


Office Office Holder Represents / Term Ends
Chair David Gutierrez Gatesville, 02-01-2021
Board Member(s) D'Wayne Jernigan Huntsville, 02-01-2025
Carmella Jones Angleton, 02-01-2025
James LaFavers Amarillo, 02-01-2023
Brian Long Palestine, 02-01-2023
Ed Robertson Austin, 02-01-2021
Col. Lionel F. "Fred" Solis San Antonio, 02-01-2021
Parole Commissioner(s) Elodia Brito Amarillo
Lee Ann Eck-Massingill Gatesville
Ira Evans Angleton
Mary Farley Amarillo
Troy Fox Austin
Roy Garcia Huntsville
Raymond Gonzalez Angleton
Paul Kiel Palestine
Tracy Long Huntsville
Marsha Moberley Austin
Anthony Ramirez San Antonio
Wanda Saliagas Palestine
Charles Speier San Antonio
Roel Tejeda Gatesville


209 West 14th St. Suite 500
Austin, TX 78701

Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Chair David Gutierrez (512) 936-6351
Chief of Staff Position Vacant (512) 406-5460
Board Administrator Jessica R. Dillard (512) 406-5460
General Counsel Bettie L. Wells (512) 463-1702
Director of Institutional Parole Operations Clinton Gunnels (936) 437-2273 / (936) 291-6852
Director of Hearing Operations Rachel Alderete (512) 406-5861
Director of Public Information Raymond Estrada (512) 406-5452 / (512) 406-5482
Budget Director Kyle Britt (936) 291-2161
Clemency Director Barry Bertocki (512) 406-5852


The board makes parole decisions for Texas prison inmates, determines conditions for parole and mandatory supervision, and makes recommendations on clemency matters to the governor.

* Subject to the Texas Sunset Act; will be reviewed in 2025.