Agencies, Boards and Commissions

Judicial Council, Texas

Return to Judicial ABCs

General Information

205 West 14th Street, Suite 600P.O. Box 12066Austin, TX 78711


Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Chair - Chief Justice, Supreme Court The Honorable Nathan L. Hecht
Vice Chair - Presiding Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals The Honorable Sharon Keller

Legislative Members

Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Senator Sen. Judith Zaffirini
Senator Sen. Brandon Creighton
Representative Rep. Reggie Smith
Representative Rep. Jeff Leach

Judicial Members

Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Williamson County Judge The Honorable Bill Gravell
County Court at Law No. 2, Montgomery County The Honorable Claudia Laird
Fifth Court of Appeals, Dallas The Honorable Emily Miskel
Judge, 347th District Court The Honorable Missy Medary
Justice of the Peace, Pct. 1, Place 2, Dallas County The Honorable Valencia Nash
Judge, City of Temple Municipal Court The Honorable Kathleen Person
Justice of the Peace, McCulloch County The Honorable Margaret Sawyer
Presiding Municipal Court Judge, College Station The Honorable Edward J. Spillane III
Justice, 14th Court of Appeals The Honorable Kenneth Wise

Citizen Members

Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Keller Lenkner LLC. Zina Bash
Crow Holdings Kevin Bryant
Jackson Walker, LLP Jennifer Caughey
Virtual Intelligence Providers LLC Sonia Clayton
McLennan Co. Dist. Clerk Jon R. Gimble
Vista Proppants & Logistics Rachel Racz


Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Executive Director, Office of Court Administration Megan LaVoie (512) 463-1625


The Texas Judicial Council (TJC) is the policy-making body for the state judiciary. The Council was created in 1929 by the 41st Legislature to continuously study and report on the organization and practices of the Texas judicial system.

The Council studies methods to simplify judicial procedures, expedite court business, and better administer justice. It examines the work accomplished by the courts and submits recommendations for improvement of the system to the Legislature, the Governor and the Supreme Court. The Council receives and considers input from judges, public officials, members of the bar, and citizens.