House Committees

Committee on State & Federal Power & Responsibility

Office Committee Member
Chair Drew Darby (R)
Vice Chair Andrew Murr (R)
Rafael Anchia (D)
Larry Gonzales (R)
Eric Johnson (D)
Ken King (R)
Chris Paddie (R)
Senfronia Thompson (D)
Chris Turner (D)

Location Information

310 John H. Reagan Bldg.
(512) 463-8159

Committee Notes

Pursuant to Rule 1, Section 16, House Rules, I, Joe Straus, Speaker of the Texas House of
Representatives, create the House Select Committee on State and Federal Power and Responsibility.
This committee shall monitor actions of the federal government, including federal legislation
and regulations that require or advise that states take certain actions or pass legislation or the actions
of the federal government in providing or failing to provide services to this state. The Committee may
assess the economic impact on the state of the federal government actions or inactions. The Committee
may also consider issues related to the federal budget and its impact on Texas. The Committee shall
examine unfunded federal mandates and their impact on the state. The Committee shall also consider
proposals to amend the United States Constitution.
The committee shall have 9 members.


Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Clerk Laramie Stroud (512) 463-8159