House Committees

Committee on Texas Ports, Innovation & Infrastructure

Office Committee Member
Chair Joseph "Joe" Deshotel (D)
Vice Chair Dennis Paul (R)
Wayne Faircloth (R)
Craig Goldman (R)
Tracy O. King (D)
Geanie W. Morrison (R)
Rene O. Oliveira (D)
Evelina Ortega (D)
Dade Phelan (R)
Kevin Roberts (R)
Justin Rodriguez (D)

Location Information

(512) 463-4546

Committee Notes

Pursuant to Rule 1, Section 16, House Rules, I, Joe Straus, Speaker of the Texas House of
Representatives, create the House Select Committee on Texas Ports, Innovation & Infrastructure.
Texas ports connect to global markets across a vast array of industries. The advent of
“megaships,” expansion of the Panama Canal, and Mexico’s project to reform its energy sector are
transforming global transportation networks and markets. To ensure Texas is able to take full
advantage of these innovations and other economic opportunities presented by its ports, the Committee
shall review Texas ports’ infrastructure including inland borders and border ports of entry. The
Committee shall also analyze changes to the global trade landscape and the preparedness of Texas
ports and border ports of entry to capitalize on those changes. Further, the Committee shall identify the
near- and long-term challenges facing Texas ports and border points of entry and propose solutions to
address those needs.
This committee may request the assistance of other committees in obtaining information.
The committee shall have 11 members.


Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Clerk Melissa Quevedo (512) 463-4546