Agencies, Boards and Commissions

Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas*

9 Members - Term: 6 Years

General Information

Agency #: 542 1701 N. Congress Ave.P.O. Box 12097Austin 78711-2097


Office Office Holder Hometown / Term Ends
Presiding Officer Will Montgomery Dallas, 02-01-2023
Assistant Presiding Officer Dee Margo 01-31-2021
Board Member(s) Angelos Angelou Austin, 01-31-2019
Pete Geren Ft. Worth, 01-31-2019
Amy Mitchell Austin, 01-31-2015
Mahendra C. Patel, M.D. San Antonio, 01-01-2021
Craig Rosenfeld, M.D. Dallas, 01-31-2017
Vacant --
Vacant --


Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Chief Executive Officer Wayne Roberts (512) 463-3190
Deputy Executive Officer and General Counsel Kristen Doyle (512) 463-3190
Chief Operating Officer Heidi McConnell (512) 463-3190
Chief Prevention and Communications Officer Rebecca Garcia, Ph.D. (512) 463-3190
Chief Scientific Officer James Willson, M.D. (512) 463-3190
Chief Product Development Research Officer Mike Lang (512) 463-3190
Chief Compliance Officer Vince Burgess (512) 463-3190


The Oversight Committee serves as the governing body of CPRIT, which awards grants to expedite innovation in cancer research, to help bring lifesaving cancer products to Texans and to expand cancer prevention capabilities across the state.

* Subject to the Texas Sunset Act; will be reviewed in 2023.